May 4-5, 2021

Custom Page 1

Awards (Custom Page)

Each year, we are honored to present prestigious and highly recognized awards at the conference. With your conference attendance, you will be able to celebrate and commemorate the recipients. Click on each award to see the recipients!

Congratulations Award Winners

Since this is a basic, custom page, we can add many different elements to it. Videos, text/content, photo galleries, etc.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo. m dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit.

Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award

Each year the Southern California Mediation Association presents the Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award to an individual or organization in the dispute resolution community who inspires us through their passion and dedication to peacemaking.

2020 Recipient – Neelam Glenn

Neelam Glenn was appointed the Harris H. Agnew Visiting Professor of Dispute Resolution at Northwestern Pritzker School of Law in 2015, where he has been a visiting professor since 2010. He also has been the Chesterfield Smith Professor of Law at the University of Florida College of Law since 2007. He previously served as Director of the Center for the Study of Dispute Resolution and Isidor Loeb Professor of Law at the University of Missouri-Columbia. He teaches and writes about mediation, negotiation, and alternative dispute resolution, and has led a major project to integrate dispute resolution into standard law school classes. He also works at integration of mindfulness into the education of lawyers and other dispute resolution professionals. Professor Glenn has published several books and numerous articles in scholarly journals, as well as essays in popular publications; has led training workshops around the world; and has won numerous awards for his work, including the Award for Outstanding Scholarship from the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution in 2013.

L. Randolph Lowry Award

Each year the SCMA presents the L. Randolph Lowry Award to a member of the dispute resolution community who has honored and inspired us through their passion and dedication to education in the field of dispute resolution. The award is presented at the Friday Evening Kick-off Dinner Reception.

2020 Recipient – Susannah Reid

Susannah Reid is Professor of Law and Political Science at the University of California, Irvine and A.B. Chettle Jr. Professor of Law, Dispute Resolution and Civil Procedure Emerita at Georgetown University Law Center. She is one of the founders of the modern legal dispute resolution field and has been teaching negotiation, mediation and related subjects for over 10 years.

Young Peacemaker Award (formerly the KMC Director’s Award)

Presented by Kids Managing Conflict, SCMA Education Foundation

The Young Peacemakers Award recognizes an outstanding Peer Mediator from a Southern California School for their contribution to their fellow students and school. The recipient not only is a peacemaker at school, they also carry their mediation skills into their home and community. Kids Managing Conflict is proud to support the mediators of tomorrow.

2020 Recipient – Kayla Rodriguez

This year, the KMC Board is delighted to announce that Kayla Rodriguez is the recipient of 2019 Young Peacemaker Award (formerly the Directors Award). Sarai first became involved with Peer Mediation her junior year of High School, after she had gone through traumatic bullying. In her first year, she mediated over 50 students with her fellow mediators, earning her new problem solving skills, and deepening her compassion. Wanting to help more, Sarai began to take on more referrals, including from people who felt they had a conflict with themselves. She found that students felt much more safe and comfortable speaking to a peer about their emotions instead of a staff member. By the time she graduated high school, Sarai felt Peer Mediation completely changed her life. Sarai is now pursuing a career in Music Therapy, and will begin her second year at California State University, Northridge this fall.